(Whitesburg, GA – April 18, 2021)  The opening round of the Five Star Chrysler Dodge Jeep of Warner Robins Shoot-Out Series opened on Saturday night at the 3/8ths mile red clay race track in Whtiesburg, GA and Acworth’s ‘Fast’ Cass Fowler cashed in with his second straight victory in the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman class.  Fowler led flag to flag for his second victory in as many appearances at the newly re-opened speedway.


Fowler dominated speeding away to his second straight win.  That left the race for second the one to watch.  Alabama’s Scott Land battled with Villa Rica’s Matthew Knight and Cumming’s Stevie Brannon throughout the main event for the sportsman drivers.  As the dust settled behind Fowler, it was Land winning the race for second followed by Brannon and Knight.  Alabama’s Ryan King rounded out the first five.


Winston’s Marty Massey picked up an emotional win in the Crate Late Model main event.  Massey, the son of the late Bill Massey and brother of track promoter Mayes Massey, made the pass early on in the special $1000 to win race for the Crate Late Models and then held back the charge by season opening night winner Blant Duke of Whitesburg.  Massey was visibly filled with emotion winning his first race since his dad’s passing in December.


‘I know my dad was right there with me,” said Marty Massey afterwards.


Alabama’s Ronnie Teal battled early with youngster Landon Frix in the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers division.  Teal secured the lead before Marietta’s Cody Newton passed Newnan’s Frix on lap three.  Teal and Newton engaged in a close door to door race with two drivers bumping.  Teal ended up wrecking in turn two which allowed Newton to crusie the rest of the way for his first career win at the ‘Burg’.  Frix would come home second ahead of Acworth’s Charles Dettnar.


Whitesburg’s Derrick Matthews was trying to start the season with two straight wins in the West Georgia Tire Bomber division.  But after an intense race with fellow Whitesburg driver H B Duke, Matthews would spin out relegating him to the back of the pack for the restart.


Matthews would charge back through the field to catch Duke in the closing laps, but was unable to pass the crafty veteran.  Duke would post the win over Matthews and another Whitesburg racer Ricky Neill in third.


Michael Poss of Dallas also won his first race of the season as he bested the field of Massey Towing Mini Stock.  Poss was the runner-up on opening night improving to victory lane on Saturday ahead of Carrollton’s Jay Farmer and Dallas’ Jeff Hardin.


Jasper’s Jason Young led wire to wire to win the Hot Shots feature while James Swanger of Whitesburg did the same in the Sanders Logging Hobby main event.


West Georgia Speedway will take a couple of weeks off to prepare for the inaugural ‘Brawl at the Burg’ honoring the late Bill Massey and presented by Summit Racing Equipment.  The special race will feature the first appearance of the season for the Limited Late Models.  There will also be racing in the Crate Late Models, Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman, Sanders Logging Hobby, West Georgia Tire Bomber, Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers, Massey Towing Mini Stock and the Hot Shots.


“This is our first race honoring our Dad,” said Mayes Massey. “He loved the Limited Late Model class.  He always thought they put on a really good racing show.  That is why we waited for the season debut of the Limited Late Models.  We are offering those guys a good winner’s purse and have opened up more for all the classes on May 8th.”


The Limited Late Models and Crate Late Models will each compete in separate features with each paying $1000 to win while the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman division will race for $750 to win.  The Sanders Logging Hobby, West Georgia Tire Bombers, Massey Towing Mini Stock and Hot Shots will each race for $500 to win.  Each of the classes must have a minimum of ten cars for the purse to remain one hundred percent.  Summit Racing Equipment is also offering the winning drivers a $100 gift card and will provide the first 150 fans through the gate a ‘goodie bag’ filled with ball caps, stickers and valuable store coupons.


The gates on Saturday, May 8th will open at 3pm with racing set for 7pm.  Special event spectator tickets are $20 with kids twelve and under admitted for free.  Pit passes are $30, kids 5-12 are $20 and four and under are admitted for free with an adult.  Trackside Parking spaces offering a view of the track from the top of turn four and along the back stretch are available for purchase at the gate.


For additional information, rules, point standings and more, visit the track website at or call the speedway at 404-234-6785.


Official Results – Saturday, April 17, 2021   

Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Marty Massey, Winston  2-Blant Duke, Whitesburg  3-Kyler Haygood, Douglasville  4-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  5-Jason Deal, Copper Hill, TN  6-Shane Payton, Newnan  7-Brian Womack, Villa Rica  8-Russell Teal, Ranburne, AL  DNS-Jake Rainey, Powder Springs; Phillip Deal, Tyrone

Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Cass Fowler, Acworth  2-Scott Land, Eufala, AL  3-Stevie Brannon, Cumming  4-Matthew Knight, Villa Rica  5-Ryan King, Anniston, AL  6-Andrew Littleton, Chatsworth  7-Jake Raines, Calhoun  8-Wade Walker, Dadeville, AL  9-Troy Dixon, Temple  10-Andrew Moody, Hiram  Fast Qualifier: Fowler – 15.055 seconds / 89.67 mph

Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers (Feature): 1-Cody Newton, Marietta  2-Landon Frix, Newnan  3-Charles Dettnar, Acworth  4-Cole Barrett, Villa Rica  5-Zane Littleton, Chatsworth  6-Ronnie Teal, Ranburne, AL Fast Qualifier: Frix – 16.343 / 82.60 mph

Sanders Logging Hobby (Feature):  1-James Swanger, Whitesburg  2-Ben Steele, Franklin  3-Corey Glaze, Winston  4-Shane Gulledge, Carrollton  Fast Qualifier: Swanger – 15.731 seconds / 85.82 mph

West Georgia Tire Bomber (Feature): 1-HB Duke, Whitesburg  2-Derrick Matthews, Whitesburg  3-Ricky Neill, Whitesburg  4-David Jackson, Whitesburg  5-Jordan Wallace, Ranburne, AL  6-Chase Denham, Anniston, AL  7-Joey Ward, Newnan  8-William Blair, Whitesburg  Fast Qualifier: Matthews – 17.196 seconds / 78.51 mph

Massey Towing Mini Stock (Feature): 1-Michael Poss, Dallas  2-Jay Farmer, Carrollton  3-Jeff Hardin, Dallas  4-Brian Morris, Wedowee, AL  5-Robert Shaw, Cartersville  6-Brian Arce, Ranburne, AL  7-Stephen Smith, Carrollton  DNS-Dustin Farmer, Roopville; Shane Walton, Temple  Fast Qualifier: Poss – 18.558 seconds / 72.74 mph

Hot Shots (Feature): 1-Jason Young, Jasper  2-Tony Newman, Lilburn  3-Ernie Turner, Douglasville  4-Jonathan Nelson, Marietta  5-Doug McClain, Marietta  6-Paul Heitsenrether, Marietta  7-Tommy Price, Taylorsville  Fast Qualifier: Young – 18.976 / 71.14 mph