(Whitesburg, GA – July 23, 2021)  In the first-ever sanctioned Super Late Model event in the history of West Georgia Speedway, it was nearby racer Austin Horton, of Newnan, that stole the show and etched his name into the record books for winning on Thursday night, July 22.  Austin earned Fast Time honors overall during the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series qualifying session and later rolled off from the pole position in the 40-lap headliner.  With a large crowd on hand at the Whitesburg, Georgia facility, Austin controlled the field from green to checkers and survived a restart with only three circuits remaining to lay claim to the $4,053 winner’s check.   


Outside polesitter Brent Dixon, who paced Group B during time trials, chased Horton throughout the contest, but never managed a serious bid for the top spot.  The Elberton, Georgia ace finished 1.775 seconds behind in the runner-up position.  Pearson Lee Williams improved one spot during the course of the race to grab the final position on the podium in third.  Dirt Draft Rookie of the Year contender Garrett Smith brought his #10 machine home in fourth while Kenny Collins moved up to fifth to complete an all-Georgia top five.


“It feels great to win here at West Georgia,” exclaimed Horton in Schaeffer’s Oil victory lane.  “I made my first laps here.  I cut my teeth here in a street stock.  We’ve came a long way in a short time.  Man, I don’t even know what to say … just glad to do it at the hometown track and get us another win.  After a rough hot laps, it couldn’t have went any better after that!”


Austin’s third career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series victory moved him into a tie for eleventh all-time on the miniseries win list with Mike Marlar and Clint Smith.  His triumph came aboard a #16 XR1 Rocket Chassis by Clint Smith Racing with sponsorship from Super K Express, Orr’s Towing, GW Performance, Franklin Enterprises, Top Notch Graphics, and Horton’s Inc.


Round five of the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series drew a 27 car field for the first-ever visit to West Georgia Speedway.  Eventual winner Austin Horton stopped the clock quickest in FK Rod Ends qualifying with his fast time of 14.090 seconds.  Michael Page secured the win in GoSunoco Racing B-Main #1, while Jordy Nipper was victorious in American Racer South B-Main #2.  Ahnna Parkhurst and Jeff Neubert utilized series provisionals to gain access into the A-Main, while Benjamin Cranford and Chuck Southard both took use of their emergency provisional.


Other action on Thursday night included a victory for Alabama’s Richie Stephens in the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman.  Stephens paced the field winning ahead of Columbus drivers Bubba Gorman and Tim Lenz.  Current track points leader, Shane Payton of Newnan, came home fourth with Florida’s Noah Cornman completing the first five.


Villa Rica’s Cole Barrett became the first repeat winner in the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers division this season.  Barrett bested his friendly track rival Landon Frix of Newnan for the victory.  It was the first time in eight races that a driver was able to win their second race.


Derick Matthews of Whitesburg outdueled Senoia’s Dustin ‘Dune Buggy’ Smith for the laurels in the West Georgia Tire Bomber division.  Each driver has championships at their home track, Matthews at West Georgia Speedway and Smith at Senoia Raceway.  This was the first time the champions squared off against each other this year.  Alabama’s Jordan Wallace came home third.


Temple’s David Brackett and Kennesaw’s Doug McClain claimed checkers in the four cylinder competition with Brackett winning the Massey Towing Mini Stock and McClain winning the Hot Shot main event after Rick Ricks was disqualified in post race tech for a locked differential.


West Georgia Speedway returns to racing action on Saturday, July 31st with a full night of ‘Red Clay Revival’ racing action.  Fans can look forward to high speed racing excitement in the Country Financial Crate Late Models, Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman, Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers, West Georgia Tire Bombers, Massey Towing Mini and the Hot Shots.  The Massey Towing Mini Stock will be in the spotlight with a special event paying $500 to win.


The gates will open at 4pm with racing set for 7pm.  Spectator tickets are $15 with kids twelve and under admitted for free.  Pit passes are $30, kids 5-12 are $20 and four and under are admitted for free with an adult.  Trackside Parking reserved spaces offering a view of the track from the top of turn four are available for purchase at the gate.


For additional information, rules, point standings and more, visit the track website at www.wgsracing.com or call the speedway at 404-234-6785.


Official Results – Thursday, July 22, 2021   


Schaeffer’s Oil Southern National Super Late Models (Feature):  1-Austin Horton, Whitesburg  2-Brent Dixon, Elberton  3-Pearson Lee Williams, Dublin  4-Garrett Smith, Eatonton  5-Kenny Collins, Colbert  6-Mark Whitener, Middleburg, FL  7-Dalton Cook, Columbus  8-Donald McIntosh, Dawsonville  9-Cody Overton, Evans  10-Wil Herrington, Cochran  11-Jensen Ford, Johnson City, TN  12-Benjamin Cranford, Lousiville  13-Stacy Boles, Clinton, TN  14-Jeff Neubert, Knoxville, TN  15-Michael Brown, Pageland, SC  16-Chuck Southard, Franklin, NC  17-Ahnna Parkhurst, Evans  18-Dale McDowell, Chickamauga  19-Tyler Millwood, Kingston  20-Michael Page, Winston  21-Joey Armistead, Senoia  22-Todd Morrow, Chattanooga, TN  23-Will Harris, Pendergrass  24-Jordy Nipper, Gray  Non-Qualifiers: Billy Franklin, Calera, AL; Sam Seawright, Rainsville, AL; Joe Denby  Fast Qualifier: Horton – 14.090 seconds / 95.81 mph


Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Richie Stephens, Phenix City, AL  2-Bubba Gorman, Columbus  3-Tim Lenz, Columbus  4-Shane Payton, Newnan  5-Noah Cornman, Mt. Dora, FL  6-Mitchell Keaton, Temple  7-Jamie Godbee, Carrollton  8-Chris Lafever, Winchester, TN  9-Randy Hester, Columbus  10-Andrew Moody, Villa Rica  11-Shaun Heath, Acworth  12-James Swanger, Whitesburg  13-Morgan Alexander, Locust Grove  14-Payton Stevenson, Locust Grove  15-Cole Ingram, Anniston, AL  Fast Qualifier: Stephens – 15.971 seconds / 84.53 mph


Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers (Feature): 1-Cole Barrett, Villa Rica  2-Landon Frix, Newnan  3-David Jackson, Whitesburg  4-Richard Scott, Jackson  Fast Qualifier: Jackson – 17.886 seconds / 75.46 mph


West Georgia Tire Bomber (Feature): 1- Derick Matthews, Whitesburg  2-Dustin Smith, Senoia  3-Jordan Wallace, Ranburne, AL  4-John Holcomb, Griffin  5-Bobby Mills, Griffin  6-William Blair, Whitesburg  Fast Qualifier: Matthews – 18.756 seconds / 71.96 mph


Massey Towing Mini Stock (Feature): 1-David Brackett, Temple  2-Joey Payne, Fairmount  3-Stephen Smith, Carrollton  Fast Qualifier: Brackett – 21.001 seconds / 64.29 mph


Hot Shots (Feature): 1-Doug McClain, Kennesaw  2-Alex Treadwell, Newnan  3-Jonathan Nelson, Marietta  4-Paul Heitsenrether, Marietta  DQ: Rick Ricks, Marietta (locked differential)  Fast Qualifier: disallowed due to DQ