(Whitesburg, GA – June 27, 2021)  Mother Nature tried valiantly to end all racing on Saturday night drenching the 3/8th mile red clay speedway with a five minute downpour.  Officials and drivers did not choose to give up though, worked the track back in and went racing.


One of the happiest drivers to get the race night completed was Flowery Branch’s Gavin Terry who was making his first appearance at the rejuvenated race track.  Terry held off all challenges to notch a victory in the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers division.  The 602 crate engine class designed for lesser experienced drivers gain valuable seat time has seen a half dozen different winners in as many nights.


“It is definitely one of the most competitive classes we have every Saturday night,” said promoter Mayes Massey.  “It is fun to watch these drivers get better and better every time they belt in to these late model machines.”


On the other end of the spectrum, veteran drivers Dusty Jones of LaGrange and Austin Horton of Whitesburg put on a racing clinic for the die-hard, rain weary fans.  Jones and Horton battled side by side, nose to tail, exchanging some paint a few times that kept the fans on the edge of their seats for nearly the entire race.  The wet tacky track loving Jones held off every move the former Southern All-Stars Tour champion Horton could throw at him to win his first at West Georgia this season.  Winston’s Marty Massey came home third piloting his crate engine, less horse-powered racer to the show position.  Villa Rica’s Mark Knight and Alabama’s Russell Teal rounded out the first five finishers.


The wet, slippery red clay posed a few issues during preliminary qualifying before the clay tightened up for the main events.  Locust Grove’s Payton Stevenson proved he could drive in any condition thrown at him as the young gun topped a tough round of qualifying for the Summit Racing Equipment (602) Late Model Sportsman before running flag to flag for the win in the feature race.  Newnan’s Shane Payton who is leading the divisional point near the halfway mark of the season held off a strong charge by veteran short track racing ace Joe Armistead, Jr. of Senoia on several instances during the race.  The duo ended up second and third.


Whitesburg’s James Swanger kept his winning streak intact as he won for the sixth time in 2021.  Swanger took advantage of Franklin’s Chris Steele and Douglasville’s Cory Hillman made miscues early on allowing him to make his way to the lead position.  Swanger remains undefeated in the Sanders Logging Hobby division at West Georgia Speedway.


Jenkinsburg’s Craig Boozer was in control of the West Georgia Tire Bomber class main event until he made one little mistake which allowed Whitesburg’s William Blair to shoot past and into the lead position.  Blair did not make any mistakes the rest of the way to win his first of the season while Boozer ended up second just ahead of current track point’s leader Derrick Matthews in third.


Temples’ David Bracket in the Massey Towing Mini Stock and Douglasville’s Ernie Turner in the Hot Shots each repeated victories in their respective division feature races.


West Georgia Speedway cranks back up this Saturday, July 3rd with the the Five Star Shoot-Out Series offering $1000 to win feature race for the Crate Late Models and a $1000 to win feature in the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman while also providing racing in the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers, Sanders Logging Hobby, West Georgia Tire Bombers, Massey Towing Mini Stocks and Hot Shots.  The special holiday weekend racing event will also feature added prizes for the drivers and fans and culminate with a fireworks display.


The gates open on Saturday, July 3rd at 4pm with racing set for 7pm.  Spectator tickets are $15 with kids twelve and under admitted for free.  Pit passes are $30, kids 5-12 are $20 and four and under are admitted for free with an adult.  Trackside Parking reserved spaces offering a view of the track from the top of turn four are available for purchase at the gate.


For additional information, rules, point standings and more, visit the track website at or call the speedway at 404-234-6785.


Official Results – Saturday, June 26, 2021   


Limited Late Models (Feature): 1-Dusty Jones, LaGrange  2-Austin Horton, Whitesburg  3-Marty Massey, Winston  4-Mark Knight, Villa Rica  5-Russell Teal, Ranburne, AL  6-James Mills, Acworth  7-Ryan Knight, Villa Rica  8-Shawn Cater, Carrollton  9-Roger Cassel, Franklin  10-Joe Hillman, Villa Rica  11-Brian Reese, LaGrange  DNS: Phillip Deal, Tyrone; Shane Criswell, Bowden  Fast Qualifier: Horton – 15.552 seconds / 86.81 mph


Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Payton Stevenson, Locust Grove  2-Shane Payton, Newnan  3-Joe Armistead, Senoia  4-Mitchell Keaton, Temple  5-Matthew Knight, Villa Rica  6-Randy Hester, Columbus  7-Hunter Worley, Alvaton  8-Tim Lenz, Columbus  DNS: Wylie McDaniel, Byron  Fast Qualifier: Stevenson – 16.662 seconds / 81.02 mph


Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers (Feature): 1-Gavin Terry, Flowery Branch  2-Ronnie Teal, Ranburne, AL  3-Billy Wallace, Tallapoosa  4-Cole Barrett, Villa Rica  5-Darren Ray, Jackson  6-Landon Frix, Newnan  7-Noah Cornman, Mt. Dora, FL  DNS: Anthony Mayo, McDonough  Fast Qualifier: Gavin – 18.217 / 74.11 mph


Sanders Logging Hobby (Feature):  1-James Swanger, Whitesburg  2-Chris Steele, Franklin  3-Corey Glaze, Winston  4-Cory Hillman, Douglasville  DNS: Ben Steele, Franklin; Brandon McDaniel, Macon  Fast Qualifier: Glaze – 20.138 seconds / 67.04 mph


West Georgia Tire Bomber (Feature): 1-William Blair, Whitesburg  2-Craig Boozer, Jenkinsburg  3-Derrick Matthews, Whitesburg  4-Jordan Wallace, Ranburne, AL  5-Ricky Neill, Whitesburg  Fast Qualifier: Blair – 21.240 seconds / 65.56 mph


Massey Towing Mini Stock (Feature): 1-David Brackett, Temple  2-Jason Burton, Woodland, AL  3-Brian Arce, Ranburne, AL  4-Shane Walton, Temple  5-Tommy Faulkner, Newnan  6-Jeff Dean, Helena, AL  7-Justin Brackett, Villa Rica  DNS: Rocky Johnson, Winston; Jay Farmer, Carrollton  Fast Qualifier: David Brackett – 21.323 seconds / 63.32 mph


Hot Shots (Feature): 1-Ernie Turner, Douglasville  2-Steve Clinton, Griffin  3-Tommy Smith, Forsyth  4-Kaitlyn Upton, Smiths Station, AL  5-Paul Heitsenrether, Marietta  DNS: Doug McClain, Kennesaw; Cody Smith, Senoia; Shannon Stephens, Franklin  Fast Qualifier: Turner – 23.426 seconds / 57.63 mph