(Whitesburg, GA – May 30, 2021)  Toccoa’s Tucker Anderson waited patiently for Villa Rica’s Cole Barrett to make one small mistake to try and take advantage.  That opportunity came with only a few laps remaining in Saturday night’s main event for the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers division.  The fourteen-year-old Tucker shot past the eighteen-year-old Barrett on the front stretch after Barrett wobbled coming off the fourth turn.  It was the difference in a hotly contested battle between the young guns with Tucker taking home the honors.


“I just had to wait and let him make a mistake,” said Anderson afterwards.


Other victors at the 3/8ths mile red clay track in Whitesburg, Georgia included Marty Massey of Winston in the Crate Late Models; Bremen’s Austin Aldridge in the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman; David Brackett in the Massey Towing Mini; Derrick Matthews in the West Georgia Tire Bomber; Ernie Turner of Douglasville in the Hot Shots and for the fifth time this season James Swanger won the Sanders Logging Hobby feature.


It seems nobody has anything this season for James Swanger.  The Whitesburg fabricator is undefeated this year in Hobby competition.  He again won going away Saturday night as he ran flag to flag for the win over fellow Whitesburg driver Michael Thomas, Senoia’s Michael Couch and Cochran’s Jason Floyd.  Swanger is now five for five on the season at West Georgia Speedway.


‘Bring it on,” said Swanger during the post race interview when asked about a bounty on the driver.


Austin Aldridge held off all challenges by Newnan’s Shane Payton and Villa Rica’s Matthew Knight to win his first of the season at West Georgia Speedway.  Aldridge held his low line in the Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman forcing his competitors to the high side.  They could not find the grip and had to settle for podium behind Aldridge.


Whitesburg’s William Blair tried to snap Derrick Matthews’ win streak in the West Georgia Tire Bombers, but fell short.  Matthews has won three straight while Blair settled for second ahead of Griffin’s Chad Foster.


Ernie ‘Wrench’ Turner was handed the win in post race tech after Marietta’s Rick Ricks came across the scales five pounds light.  It was Turner’s first win at West Georgia Speedway.  Marietta’s Jonathan Nelson was second ahead of Griffin’s Steve Clinton.


West Georgia Speedway takes a couple weeks off before hosting the Five Star Chrysler Dodge Jeep Shoot-Out Series on Saturday, June 19th.  The Five Star Shoot-Out Series offers $1000 to win feature races for the Crate Late Models and Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman while also providing racing in the Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers, Sanders Logging Hobby, West Georgia Tire Bombers, Massey Towing Mini Stocks and Hot Shots. 


The gates open on Saturday, June 19th at 4pm with racing set for 7pm.  Spectator tickets are $15 with kids twelve and under admitted for free.  Pit passes are $30, kids 5-12 are $20 and four and under are admitted for free with an adult.  Trackside Parking spaces offering a view of the track from the top of turn four and along the back stretch are available for purchase at the gate.


For additional information, rules, point standings and more, visit the track website at www.wgsracing.com or call the speedway at 404-234-6785.


Official Results – Saturday, May 29, 2021   


Crate Late Models (Feature): 1-Marty Massey, Winston  2-Craig Scott, Jackson  3-Jake Traylor, LaGrange  4-Marty Lunsford, Newnan  5-Roger Cassel, Franklin  6-Brian Womack, Villa Rica  7-Russell Teal, Ranburne, AL  8-Michael Turner, Hiram  9-Colby Darda, LaGrange  Fast Qualifier: Mason Massey – 14.493 seconds / 93.15 mph


Summit Racing Equipment Late Model Sportsman (Feature): 1-Austin Aldridge, Bremen  2-Matthew Knight, Villa Rica  3-Shane Payton, Newnan  4-Tim Lenz, Columbus  5-Jimmy Ivester, Toccoa  6-Shaun Heath, Villa Rica  7-Josh Scott, Jackson  8-JC Mattox, Griffin  9-Cody King, Jackson  10-Jack Smith, Stockbridge  Fast Qualifier: Aldridge – 15.005 seconds / 89.97 mph


Gerber Collision & Glass Chargers (Feature): 1-Tucker Anderson, Toccoa  2-Cole Barrett, Villa Rica  3-Dean Delemar, McDonough  4-Michael Thomas, Whitesburg  5-Richard Scott, Jackson  Fast Qualifier: Barrett – 15.605 / 86.51 mph


Southern Outlaw Hobby (Feature):  1-James Swanger, Whitesburg  2-Greg Thomas, Whitesburg  3-Michael Couch, Senoia  4-Jason Floyd, Cochran  DNS: Corey Glaze, Winston  Fast Qualifier: Swanger – 15.482 seconds / 87.20 mph


West Georgia Tire Bomber (Feature): 1-Derrick Matthews, Whitesburg  2-William Blair, Whitesburg  3-Chad Foster, Griffin  4-Craig Boozer, Jenkinsburg  5-Ricky Neil, Whitesburg  6-Wilson Boozer, Jenkinsburg  7-Jordan Wallace, Ranburne, AL  8-David Jackson, Whitesburg  Fast Qualifier: Matthews – 17.276 seconds / 78.14 mph


Massey Towing Mini Stock (Feature): 1-David Brackett, Temple  2-Michael Poss, Dallas  3-Jason Burton, Woodland, AL  4-Tracy Hulsey, Rockmart  5-Justin Brackett, Villa Rica  6-Brian Arce, Ranburne, AL  7-Jody Allen, Dallas  8-Christian Betts, Dallas  9-Michael Shutley, Dallas  DNS: Steven Shutley, Dallas; Travis Harris, Palmetto; Kyle Roberts, Dallas  Fast Qualifier: David Brackett – 17.376 seconds / 77.69 mph


Hot Shots (Feature): 1-Ernie Turner, Douglasville  2-Jonathan Nelson, Marietta  3-Steve Clinton, Griffin  4-Paul Heitsenrether, Marietta  5-Lane Rose, Roopville  DQ: Rick Ricks, Marietta (light)  DNS: Doug McClain, Kennesaw; Christopher Clinton, Griffin  Fast Qualifier: Ricks – 18.195 seconds / 74.20 mph